Thinking Blogger Award

Wonders never cease. I have been awarded the Thinking Blogger award by a dear blogger friend, Jane Sunshine. Needless to say, the award stumped me completely, since I have always considered my blog as, well, a myriad of insignificant entries like journals on my cat, sporting frustrations (and wins, occasionally), overly-emotional rants, and the usual sightseeing reports as is expected from the blog of one who currently lives in a country which isn’t home. That’s not to say that I don’t usually use my grey matter to write, but what gets produced on this blog is usually very similar to ‘free-writing’, as my posts are never really properly thought out or structured.

Having said that, I’m not about to ‘return’ a thinking blogger award when I get one, and so Jane, THANK YOU for finding me thought-provoking enough to give me an award!!

I am supposed to find 5 other bloggers who get the cogs working in my brain. That’s not too difficult as there are quite a few bloggers out there who generate so much stimulus for my brain that I end up all ‘dunced-out’, but for good reason!

I will vary the rules slightly though, as one of my awards goes out to someone who’s already been tagged earlier (I just found that out as I was copying his blog’s URL to paste here). The rules are silent on this anyway, so I don’t think I’ve forfeited my award as a result!

And so here they are, in no particular order:-

Cynical and Eccentric
She’s my little girl cousin, but for someone so young, her articulate (and complicated) thought processes puts my 35-year old brain to shame. I often enjoy being mercilessly tugged left and right by her postings, so often reminding me of how emotionally charged youth can be, and how the world can seem so dank and dark one minute and so vibrantly colourful in the next.

Kimster’s blog has always been one of my favourites, although I have always chosen to remain a silent reader. Some blogs leave you in quiet contemplation, and his is one of those. I often go “Huh, didn’t know that“, or “Ooo, righht“, whenever I read his blog. His ‘office trenches’ series is an attractive take on office politics, warfare and strategies. I always tell myself that I’ll read the books he reviews now and again, but I hardly ever do. :p Of course, the fact that this guy has always been hands-on at the F1 races in Sepang with tons of F1 facts, trivia and what-have-yous, always keeps me coming back for more.

Wandering Friend
Her blog attracts me not so much because she’s a good friend of mine, but more because despite all of life’s trials and tribulations, she’s never ever deterred by what’s thrown at her and somehow always manages to whip things into the shapes that she desires. Her posts are often philosophical with lots of inward reflection, even for the most mundane of daily tasks, and you know her writing comes from deep within.

This woman is super talented – singing, songwriting, poetry, darn good in both English and Malay. Oh, and at cooking too. She’s also an amazing wife and mother. Yet her blog is so much more than that – she can write a hilariously flippant post one day, and then the next time you visit her blog, she greets you with a such a sombre persona and thought-provoking entry that you feel like an idiot going over to her blog with your party hat and balloons. Love it.

Mr Incognito
This chap’s a new blogger in blogosphere, methinks .. but I absolutely love his entries. He’s observant in the daily happenings around him and has a way of weaving his words in such a way that you can never really get enough of what he writes. His writing is light yet eloquent and informative, and in-your-face yet diplomatic.

Ok then, that covers my list of award recipients.

Now for those of you who have been tagged here, the catch is that you need to give the award to five other bloggers whom you consider deserving of this (other than the Kimster, since he has opted to abstain from passing it on, for good reason). The award began here.

Should you choose to participate, please make sure you pass this list of rules to the blogs you are tagging. The participation rules are simple:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think.

2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme.

3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

Please, remember to tag blogs with real merits, i.e. relative content, and above all – blogs that really get you thinking!